Pan de sal Recipe

Posted on Updated on

Pan de sal is a filipino favorite. But while I was browsing through some easy recipes which I can follow .. I learned that it is actually Portuguese in origin.

In the Philippines, what we usually do is serve it with really good coffee and topped with your preferred spread. For me, I like to add cheese on it or butter. These bread rolls are fluffy and soft that it’s actually very versatile in the table. Although You can dip it in coffee or milk, add peanut butter, strawberry jam, cheese, eggs and tomatoes, etc.. the possibilities are actually limitless.

Pandesal Recipe (Adapted by Pinay Cooking Lessons) :

  1. 3 cups All Purpose Flour
  2. 1/2 cup white sugar (because I don’t use white sugar I used the equivalent 12 packets of Stevia)
  3. 2 tsp salt
  4. 1/8 cup olive oil
  5. bread crumbs (for coating)
  6. 2 tsp yeast
  7. 1 cup lukewarm water (110 – 115 degrees)
  8. 1 tsp white sugar (1 packet stevia)  and 1/2 tsp salt ( to add in the yeast mixture)
  •  Activate yeast by adding 1 cup lukewarm water, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1 packet stevia. Mix together then let sit for 5-10 mins until there is bubbling in the mixture.
  • For the dry mixture add together 3 cups All Purpose Flour, 12 packets Stevia and add the olive oil together with it.
  • Once the yeast is bubbling or has been activated add it to the dry mixture and mix it thoroughly. Add a little bit of flour until the mixture is not too sticky and kneadable. I covered mine with plastic wrap while letting it rise inside the oven (definitely it’s off) for at least an hour or until the mixture has doubled its size.
  • After an hour, remove from the off-oven and knead for about 10 mins and make sure to remove the air from the mixture.
  • Once the mixture is stretchable, divided the mixture into half and separately mold them into tubes and coat it with bread crumbs and let sit for another half an hour.
  • Cut the mixture by using a cutter or in my case I used the knife. At the same time pre-heat the oven to 360 degrees and then bake the bread to 15 – 20 mins until the bread is a little bit toasted.

(Below is a photo before I cut the into small pieces and baked the bread mixture into the oven)

2015-03-21 21.43.07

(Final product ^_^)

2015-03-21 22.38.24-1

– This is my 1st attempt in making pandesal. I never thought I’d ever get to make one and that cooking and baking whatever was just all in my head and I always thought it’s impossible as I always think I’m a loser in the kitchen.

But it seem like it is  fun! I’m actually thinking of investing in good food processor and baking utensils. Not that I’d wanna be a chef.. I’m still a nurse but I just find cooking can be more fun with the proper tools in it and with someone to feed on who appreciates. 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Pan de sal Recipe

    fabulousfannyjr said:
    March 23, 2015 at 10:19 am

    Reblogged this on global_food.

    pisoblogger said:
    March 31, 2015 at 2:51 am

    i love the smell of freshly baked pandesal in the morning and the aroma of strong coffee, brings me back to our islas in filipinas 😉

Leave a Reply

