Spaghettini in Light tomato Sauce

Posted on Updated on

i have gastroparesis and I’m very sensitive on high fiber foods and protein. Basically I eat simple carbs because it is all I can tolerate for now so I am experimenting on foods that I am able to tolerate and get as much flavor like normal.

For this post I am making spaghettini no. 6 from Barilla. I really like it than the regular spaghetti because it’s light and thin with a nutty flavor. It is a good match for lights sauces, broths and soups.

PASTA:

– Boil about 750ml of water. Add olive oil around 2 tbsp. salt and pepper and I added 1 tsp of dried sage for added smell and flavor. When the water is boiling, I added pasta and let cook until tender for about 6 mins. Transfer to a colander to drain, add a bit of olive oil to prevent it from drying and sticking together. I added around 2 tbsp of dried sage and mix thoroughly make sure that it is equally distributed. Transfer to a container and set aside.

SAUCE:

  • 1 medium onion diced
  • 1 tsp garlic diced
  • 1/2 medium carrots diced
  • 1/2 cup of mushrooms diced.
  • salt and pepper
  •  1 Tbsp of soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup of mozzarella cheese
  • 1 small Hunts tomato paste 135 g
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 packet of stevia
  • 1/2 cup skim milk

– saute onion and garlic until onion is translucent. Add carrots and mushrooms, stir and let cook for 1-2 mins. Add tomato sauce and tomato paste, stir and let boil. Add 1 packet of stevia; sprinkle a bit of salt and pepper. Add the soy sauce and stir. let boil.

– Once boiling, turn down the heat to medium high and add skim milk, and mozzarella cheese (I prefer light mozzarella but for today I used the regular one). You can actually adjust the salt, pepper, stevia and soy sauce according to your preference. But I try to keep my sauce light as much as I can so I used a minimum amount. I let it simmer for 3-5 mins.

– Sprinkle parmesan or grated cheese then serve.

Below is the final product. How I wish I can add minced turkey or minced beef to my sauce.. I tried it before but it’s not digesting at all and I hate taking my medications so I tend to stick to my basic carbs diet but trying to make it as healthy and light as much I can. 

I’m still learning how to cook since 2 months please bear with me. I am kind of enjoying the kitchen a  lot more and looking for easy and healthy recipes to follow. 🙂 

2015-03-27 16.49.11

Leave a Reply

